It has been two years…

Wow! When I first started this blog two years ago, I was a fresh college graduate who hoped to blog often. I had read parts of and studied dozens of books relating to Biblical Studies and History in college, and since I was done with formal education for a while, I wanted to keep up the habit of reading and analyzing books. And of course continue my study of and reflection on Scripture. Like I had said, I was hoping to post at least once a week, if not more often.

Well, things in life happened that turned my focus away from these goals and toward other things. For instance, beginning to work jobs. First, a part-time, then a full-time, and now two part-time jobs. Also, entering into a courtship with a beautiful, Christian lady. And then marrying her. We’ve been married now almost ten months. Obviously, God had different plans for me the last two years than posting here at this blog.

Why the return now? Two factors in particular have led me to come back to post:

  1. Over this summer I will be spending many hours preparing a series of lectures and assignments for two Bible Survey classes I am scheduled to teach this upcoming school year for Jr. High and Sr. High students. I am hoping to post the results of my research along the way and get responses from you, my readers.
  2. For my birthday yesterday I was given a book that I am very eager to read. As I have started doing so, I thought again about the possibility of posting reactions, favorite quotes, questions, etc. from the book on this blog for your enjoyment and (hopefully) edification. I want to make this possibility a reality.

So, there you have it: two solid reasons for me to be back here and actually make this blog something worthwhile. You will see these two reasons reflected in my new title for this blog: Dan’s Bible & Books Notebook.

Would you do me a favor? Give me some grace and allow me another chance to earn your time reading this blog. I do hope to make it a beneficial experience for you. And please provide any feedback you wish.

To God alone be the glory!

Grace in Christ,
Daniel P. Radke

